A mobile life in the future

Leave a comment

October 23, 2014 by karenfan111

enterprise-mobile-devices-20113On the other day, I made an interview revolving around the topic ‘what do you think of the mobile devices today and in the future?’

And the interviewees of mine includes people in different age groups, including: Gary(19, college student), my father( 50, business man) and my grandma(77).  Here is what I got.

What brand of mobile device that you currently use and what do you think of it?

Gary: I am currently using Iphone 5s, the reason that I use this is that nowadays iphone has become the most influential mobile devices companies in the world. Basically iphone is convenient and trendy at the same time, from itune to Siri, every function seems so useful and portable for us young folks.

My father: I am using iphone 4 currently. It is convenient for sure especially when you are getting lost the map can always help you out. But the other functions are somehow not that working for me such as itune, as I do not always listen to the music via phone with earphones on.

My grandma: I do not use mobile phone. I prefer to make phonecalls via telephone at home so I am not able to give that much information to you as I do not have one. But what I can tell you is the function of mobile phone is too complicated to us to learn.

Any suggestion to the improvement of mobile devices?

Gary: Well, I think the iphone is already smart enough for me to use. It fits pretty much all the demand that I want from a mobile phone. However, I personally like playing video games on my phone, so this would be the only improvement that I can think about for the future mobile device, maybe making them more real like you are actually experiencing the video games? And also,maybe reducing the size of the device but keeping the function in any ways? The device is sometimes being too large for me in some occasions as I do not like carrying bag.

My father: I can not really come up with any suggestion as I think all the mobile devices are currently all advanced enough. But for me, I prefer to make the device easier to be used. So the people like me can actually get rid of those complex functions on the phone and make it more personal if I would say.

My grandma: Well, I kind of dislike the atmosphere that everyone is looking down at their cell phone. People seem to be isolated to each other as they are all busy in pressing their phones or ipads. In the past, we did not have phones or ipads or computers but we were still alive. So I want these mobile devices all disappear.

According to the interview, I can see the different age groups of people’s thoughts are various. The young people tend to have the idea to explore the mobile devices more. I think it is because we are currently the main users and beneficiaries of those mobile devices. But we have to recognise that  we are becoming increasingly rely on those mobile devices in some extent. The middle-aged prefer to make those devices back to the basic, this is reasonable because these they are kind of stuck in the dilemma of learning the new technological things. For the elderly, they give their subjective opinions about how they see the whole technological industry and where it would lead us. It is truth we have to accept that the relationship between people and technology is multiply complex.

Leave a Reply

